January 12, 2019


(Playhouse Disney/Disney Junior, May 5, 2006-November 6, 2016)

Walt Disney Television Animation/Disney Television Animation, DQ Entertainment

For the history of Mickey Mouse, check out the post here.

            Mickey Mouse Clubhouse was the first computer animated series from Disney Television Animation. Developed by Bobs Gannaway, the series was aimed at pre-schoolers. It was designed so that the audience could solve basic problems along with Mickey (Wayne Allwine & Bret Iwan) and Minnie Mouse (Russi Taylor), Donald (Tony Anselmo) and Daisy (Tress MacNeille) Duck, Goofy, Pluto (both Bill Farmer) and a mechanical assistant called Toodles (Rob Paulsen). They summoned their clubhouse with the chant “Meeska Mooska Mickey Mouse!” via the theme song by They Might Be Giants, which housed the Mousekadoer, a giant Mickey-head shaped computer that distributed the objects needed to solve the day’s problem, called Mouseketools.

Daisy, Donald, Pluto, Goofy, Minni and Mickey in computer animation.

            Mickey Mouse Clubhouse ran for four seasons over a period of ten years; during which time the Playhouse Disney network transitioned into Disney Junior and Walt Disney Television Animation saw “Walt” removed from their name. The show spawned two spin-offs. The first was Minnie’s Bow-Toons, which followed Minnie’s adventures running a business making and selling bows from 2011-2016. The second was Mickey and the Roadster Racers, following the Sensational Six as they participated in races around the town of Hot Dog Hills.

No comments: